On 1 May 2019 the Local Government Electoral (Implementing Stage 2 of Belcarra) and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2019 was introduced to the Queensland Legislative Assembly.

The Bill has been referred to the Economics and Governance Committee who conducted an inquiry into the Bill. The submissions made, recordings and transcripts for the public hearings can be located on the Committee’s website.

On 21 June 2019, the Committee released its report which is now being considered by the State Government before the Bill is debated by Parliament. Should the Bill be passed, these reforms will apply to local governments and candidates for the 2020 local government elections. More information will be made available in due course by the Department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs here.

Local laws

Local laws are statutory instruments made by local governments to regulate a broad range of issues within their communities.

The Local Government Act 2009 and City of Brisbane Act 2010 (the Local Government Acts) establish several types of local law including:

Power of local governments

Section 28 of the Local Government Act 2009 and section 29 of the City of Brisbane Act 2010 provides the power for local governments to make and enforce local laws that are necessary or convenient for the good rule and government of their local government area. The Local Government Acts empower local governments to make local laws that are suitable to their particular needs and resources and that achieve the purpose and principles of local government.

The Local Government Acts also limit the powers of local governments to make certain local laws. Local governments cannot make local laws that contain provisions:

Responsibility of local governments

The Local Government Acts make clear that it is the responsibility of each local government to make their local laws and to decide what process it will use to make them, provided the process and the laws are consistent with the provisions of the relevant Act:

Information for local governments

Information summarising key legislative requirements and providing good practice tips for local law makers and local government officers is provided below. However, the Local Government Acts are the ultimate authority and primary reference for all local governments in relation to making their local laws.

Visit the following pages for more information: